Search results

1. mike calabrese

IS BIG BROTHER COMING TO YOUR SHOP?

Government regulation will change woodworking forever from your garage to the largest users of table saws. I ma not taking any shots at SAWSTOP if you like one buy one but soon big brother will make you buy a SawStop or something just like it . This video hit YouTube less than one hour ago...
  2. mike calabrese

A nice turning wood

Finished this earlier this week. It is my first build using flame birch. I really really like the way the birch turns . Cuts well with carbides, easily to sand and takes a real nice finish. Turning the flame birch was just real easy and smooth going and kind of looks neat pattern wise with just...
  3. mike calabrese

FOAM CUSHIONS FOR COLE JAWS

Finally solved an issue trying to prevent chafing / marring a finished bowl mounted in Cole jaws. Working from an ordinary kids toy, a pool noodle simply cut a slice off the noodle about 1/2 in thick and place the donuts over the rubber inserts on the Cole jaws. The bowl edge nicely rests on...
  4. mike calabrese

The reality of being old

I WOULD RATHER BE A SHARPENER THAN A PENCIL The reality of being old mike calabrese55 3-23-2024 I often use the common pencil that has been around long enough to barely stick out of the sharpener far enough to be held. Somehow that thought evolved into an analogy of a pencil to life...
  5. mike calabrese

LATHE STEADY REST

Finished this up yesterday. Originally started out a a donut chuck for my lathe but I needed a steady rest for the vase I am trying to ruin now. The wheels are from an old pair of roller blade skates. They are very smooth running and had all the necessary fittings to mount to the support arms...
  6. mike calabrese

Having a go at another vase