Search results

1. Dan Gonzales

Boating On the Cheap

I found a 15' Gregor for $80, an Evinrude 25 hp for $150 and the trailer for $100. I know how to take care of the metal work but need some pointers on what to check out on the outboard. I'm a good shade tree mechanic, just don't know the particulars of outboards. Thanks in advance for any pointers.
  2. Dan Gonzales

Recycling a diamond saw blade into a draw knife.

A neat video showcasing some garage metal working skills and some lathe work. I sometimes need a small piece of high quality steel and this video has found a free source for me as I have a couple of friends who own masonry businesses. I'm going to hit them up for some used blades. Cheers,
  3. Dan Gonzales

A new old member

Been away for awhile. Life can take you away from things you like for awhile, but I'm back. Cheers to the familiars and now to catch-up with new members and old. Dan Gonzales Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
  4. Dan Gonzales

Alternative use of jig and drill press

I was stripping line off some reels at my workench when this idea popped in my head. I dug out a scrap of 2" long 1x6 pine cutoff from the trash bin. Split it into a few pieces with a claw hammer. Nailed a 6 penny finish nail in about an inch. Made a 3/16" hole in my lockset jig. Chucked and...
  5. Dan Gonzales

Handheld Router Dust Control

This looks worthwhile. Fine Homebuilding: How to Make a Custom Dust Collector for Your Router Cheers,
  6. Dan Gonzales

Disappointing Delivery

I carry an old unknown Chinese/Taiwanese 8" 4-in-hand rasp and file in my tool bag. I never thought much about it until now that it's lost its bite. I ordered what I thought would be a spiffy replacement. A genuine 10" Nicholson product. Here's the image from the order page. Here's what...
  7. Dan Gonzales

How Bessey Tradesman Clamps Are Made

This video makes me happy. BESSEY Production of a malleable cast iron screw clamps - TG series
  8. Dan Gonzales